Mobile E-mail is Unreliable

I’ve noticed something about online mail that use fancy JavaScript. The messages don’t always show up instantly. I’ve seen this on a number of occasions but sometimes the matter is critical and relying on mobile e-mail can be a huge mistake. The technology can be highly unreliable when the stakes are high.

Recently, I needed notification of my mom’s health issues and the email from my sister did not show up immediately on mobile email app. I didn’t see anything until late the next day. I didn’t consider this until in the same general time period, I tried to do an account reset by email. I sat there, waiting for the reset message to show up. It didn’t. Minutes passed, and it looked like the message wasn’t there, but it was. This weekend, I just kept pressing submit. I couldn’t understand why the messages were not coming in. Admittedly, I wasn’t thinking straight. Today, with a clearer head, I switched off the fancy JavaScript while on a regular computer and the email was finally revealed. You will not believe how I felt.

This is not the first time this has happened, but this time was serious. The technology failed. Can I say this happens consistently? No, but it does happen. In the name of caching, in the name of saving bandwidth, in the name of smooth user experience, there are times when this stuff just utterly fails.

Leave a Reply

