Ubuntu 14.04 is the Smoothest Install Ever

I didn’t not know if I was going to update from 12.04 to 14.04 on the day of release. I read a nice article on Ars Technica, posted my own thoughts about it and after about an hour of thought, I decided to go ahead and try it. Well, I am glad I did. The install went very well. Here is how and what:

My Install Steps – Prep and Select

Below are the general steps that I took to get a copy of Ubuntu. You can just download it, but I had particular reasons for using wget as that kept my download going in a very straightforward way.

  1. Went to www.ubuntu.com and clicked on Desktop and proceeded to download.
  2. Got the full web address of the download.
  3. Stopped the browser download.
  4. Opened up a command prompt, executed wget and pulled the ISO file to the Downloads directory.

While the download was going, I was busy backing up any files I had on the system. The download finished up after about 30 minutes. Wget is an extremely efficient program that does the download well.

  1. Attached a USB flash drive, backed up files to it.
  2. Double-checked and made sure I had both the files backed up and a finished copy of the downloaded Ubuntu ISO.
  3. Removed the attached USB flash drive containing the backed up files.

The next thing is to setup a USB flash drive so it will boot up with the Ubuntu install files. This took about 10 minutes.

  1. Made sure the download finished.
  2. Backup the downloaded ISO file.
  3. Launched Startup Disk Creator.
  4. Startup Disk Creator found the ISO file and the attached USB flash drive.
  5. Finished up with the Startup Disk Creator, kept the USB flash drive attached.
  6. Shutdown the computer.

Installing Ubuntu

The following are the basic steps to install Ubuntu using the bootable USB flash drive.

  1. Attach the USB flash drive.
  2. Turn on the computer and select the option to bring up the boot menu.
  3. Choose the USB flash drive from the menu and continue.
  4. The Ubuntu 14.04 live image started up and I proceeded through the install.

Install Times

About 30 minutes to download.

About 10 minutes to make a boot-up USB flash drive.

About 10 minutes to install.

Impressive.

Concluding Thoughts on the Ubuntu 14.04 Install

It took about 10 minutes to install Ubuntu 14.04 on a laptop using a 2012 Intel i5 processor with an Intel 530 series SSD.

Not bad at all.

I’ve never had a desktop operating system install that fast. It boots fast, and I get right into the login screen rather quickly. What’s more is that after I login, it takes about 2 – 5 seconds for the desktop to come up and be ready to use.

It took longer to write this blog post.

I have already customized my new install and so far, it impresses in terms of stability, speed, and smoothness of operations. The software developers for this new Ubuntu build did an excellent job from what I can see.

Ubuntu 14.04 LTS is super solid.


By Michael Gautier

Leave a Reply

